Welcome to the An Fóram Uisce – the Water Forum website.

The National Water Forum, as the only statutory body established to advise the Minister on water policy and management in Ireland, provides stakeholder input into policy development. With 26 members representing sectors such as agriculture, business, industry, education, community and voluntary, environmental NGOs, fishing, recreation, trade unions and Irish Water Consumers a wide variety of perspectives are facilitated to contribute to policy.

Policy positions are grounded in the most recent scientific data, input from agency experts, academic knowledge and commissioned research and consensus is achieved through dialogue and  informed debate. The diverse primary views find common ground on policies, technical, governance and community solutions  to provide a strong independent voice on water quality, water conservation and future proofing.

We communicate our positions through policy submissions, webinars, conferences, workshops and newsletters. We publish research reports and education and awareness resources and all are available on this website.

Our fundamental aim is to strengthen democratic input into decision making regarding water as a fundamental asset and to protect this precious gift for future generations to enjoy.

Dr Matt Crowe


Stakeholders Members
Agriculture Denis Drennan - Irish Creamery Milk Suppliers Association (ICMSA) ; Derry Dillon - MACRA ; Dominic Cronin - Irish Co-operative Society (ICOS) ; Paul O’Brien - Irish Farmers Association (IFA)
Angling Martin McEnroe - Anglers
Business Neil Walker - Irish Business & Employers Confederation (IBEC)
Chairperson Dr Matt Crowe
Community and Voluntary Gerald Quain - Irish Rural Link ; Issy Petrie - St. Vincent de Paul
Education Dr Suzanne Linnane - Dundalk Institute of Technology
Environment Bernadette Connolly - Cork Environmental Forum ; Ollan Herr - Zero Waste Alliance ; Sinead O’Brien - Sustainable Water Network (SWAN) ; Dr Elaine McGoff - An Taisce ; Charles Stanley-Smith - The Environment Pillar
Forestry Brendan Fitzsimons - Tree Council of Ireland
General Consumers Connie Rochford ; Keith Hyland
National Federation of Group Water Schemes Barry Deane - CEO National Federation of Group Water Schemes ; Jean Rosney
Recreation Dr Tim Butter - Irish Underwater Council
Rivers Trusts Siobhan Ward - Moy Rivers Trust
Social Housing David Wright
Tourism Tim Fenn - Irish Hotels Federation (IHF)
View All News
View All Publications